AVA Board

Sophy Green


Sophy became the Chair of Aberdeenshire Voluntary Action in December 2014. Sophy is Chief Executive of Instant Neighbour in Aberdeen as well as being the Chair of the Social Entrepreneurs Network in Scotland (Senscot). Sophy is a business mentor with Business Mentoring Scotland and she has lived and worked across both Aberdeen city and Aberdeenshire.

Melanie Liddell

Board Member


Melanie has been a volunteer in the Third Sector for the past ten years. She obtained a first class honours degree in Business Management and has a good understanding of business planning and strategic thinking. She works part-time as a climbing instructor.

Anne Simpson

Board Member


Anne was previously a board member for Bridge CVS and is a Development Worker for the Garioch Area Partnership. Anne's early career was at the Rowett Research Institute in Aberdeen where she undertook research for her Ph.D., then a post doctoral fellowship. After a course at Northern College in Aberdeen, Anne qualified as a Youth & Community worker in 1982 . Since then she has worked in Community Learning & Development and Education fields in Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire.

David Hekelaar

Board Member


David was previously a board member for Volunteer Centre Aberdeenshire and has worked as an accountant for the Fish Processing Industry and latterly the oil and gas sector. David is the chair of Dog Action Working Group Scotland (DAWGS), is an active member of the Rotary Club in Ellon, Aberdeenshire and is a board member of Grampian Cardiac Rehabilitation Association Ltd.



Karen McWilliam

Board Member


Karen Clark

Board Member